About Serhat Hosder

Serhat Hosder

Mechanical & Aerospace Engin
290B Toomey Hall

573-341-7239 | hosders@mst.edu


Serhat Hosder is currently a Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE) Department of Missouri S&T. He is also the director of Aerospace Simulations Laboratory. He received his PhD degree in Aerospace Engineering from Virginia Tech in 2004. His current research activities focus on the fields of computational aerothermodynamics, multi-fidelity modeling and uncertainty quantification of hypersonic flows and technologies, directed energy for hypersonic applications, planetary entry/descent/landing of spacecraft, and aerodynamic shape optimization. His recent research projects have been funded by DoD Joint Hypersonics Transition Office , NASA, Missile Defense Agency, NSF and industry. His students received prestigious fellowships including 3 NASA Space Technology Research Fellowships, 3 NASA Pathways Internships, 1 Amelia Earhart Fellowship, and various awards from the university during their graduate studies. The graduated students currently work at NASA, Sandia National Labs, academia, and industry. Prof. Hosder is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society and an Associate Fellow of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). He was the Chair of AIAA Hypersonic Technologies and Space Planes (HyTASP) Technical Committee (TC) between 2019 and 2021 and currently serves on the steering committee of HyTASP TC.


Expertise areas

Aerothermodynamics, Hypersonic Flows and Technologies, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Uncertainty Quantification, Multi-fidelity Modeling, Directed Energy, Planetary Entry/Descent/Landing of Spacecraft, Aerodynamic Shape Optimization, Numerical Methods.

Awards and recognition


Selected Awards/Honors
  • 2021 AIAA International Space Planes and Hypersonic Systems & Technologies Best Student Paper - 2023
  • Missouri S&T Outstanding Faculty for Contributions to Graduate Studies Award - 2022
  • Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society - 2021
  • NASA Langley Research Center H. J. E. Reid Award 2018
  • Associate Fellow of AIAA 2017
  • Missouri S&T Faculty External Recognition Award 2017
  • Missouri S&T Faculty Research Award 2015
  • Missouri S&T Faculty Research Award 2012